For Sama: Online screening

For Sama: Online screening

Where
Online - see link below
When
June 19, 2020 at 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Contact
Refugee Week Organisers

Friday 19th June: 7.30pm AEST / 5.30 pm AWST / 7pm ACST. 

In partnership with the Human Rights Arts and Film Festival, we are delighted to bring this beautiful film right to your living rooms. Oscar-nominated and recipient of countless awards, FOR SAMA is both an intimate and epic journey into the female experience of war. A love letter from a young mother to her daughter, the film tells the story of Waad al-Kateab’s life through five years of the uprising in Aleppo, Syria as she falls in love, gets married and gives birth to Sama, all while cataclysmic conflict rises around her.

Her camera captures incredible stories of loss, laughter and survival as Waad wrestles with an impossible choice–whether or not to flee the city to protect her daughter’s life, when leaving means abandoning the struggle for freedom for which she has already sacrificed so much.

The film is the first feature documentary by Emmy award-winning filmmakers, Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts.

View trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsvBqtg2RM0 

Buy your tickets here.  

Will you come?

536 RSVPS
Anna Noonan Elrike Drooger Sonja Grasso Rebecca Avery Isabelle Jones Rabbitt Juliana Lima Paul Power Louise Redmond Carmel Hall Gabrielle Orosz Mark Mahoney Ju-Lin Lee Tashkah Lloyd Sharmeen Hossain Julien Chatellier Brynhild Hearder Gwenyth Woods Caitlin Staer Chistine Marmara Anneke Oppewal Barbara Forehan Malika Kane Lana Adams Judith Pimentel Binari Wijesundara Pamela Dunn Melinda Clifford Michael Brown Jacqui Wright Jess B Diana Eades Laura Stacey Hanne Worsoe Jessica La sonya parton Saida Mohamed Charmaine Du Zana Jabir Marie-lyse Eliatamby Elle Morrell Jackie Wenner Sruthi Ravi Samina Hassan Moira Walsh Denise Esposito Maram Bayad Kate mclean Donna Elkins